Noodles with Fire on it????

         Staying in Xi’an for 5 years,I thought I must have been very familiar with all kinds of the noodles in the world except the pasta in Italy.However,two guests asked me today if I have ever seen a kind of noodle which is with fire on it.O_O!!!!!What??!!!I ran to their computer and found out that it was not a joke.

        Ramen,a japanized noodle originated from China.It consists of Chinese-style wheat noodles served in a meat- or fish-based broth,often flavoured with soy sauce or miso,and uses toppings like sliced pork,dried seaweed,green onions,and occasionally corn.I believe it is definitely of Chinese origin because of its name-Ramen,which is very similiar to the pronunciation of Lamian(拉面 in Chinese),meaning “hand-pulled noodles”.

       I couldn’t figure it out until now why it is cooked with big fire on top of it according to the pictures shown on their computer.Maybe it is just for a show…

       I searched on Wikipedia and discovered several types of Ramen,such as,Shio ramen,Tonkotsu ramen,Shoyu ramen,Miso ramen,etc.

        

Leave a Reply

